Refresh processing

Refresh processing is what occurs when a fault entry is being rewritten due to user information, having been updated during interactive reanalysis. The user information which might cause this refresh processing is any of the following:
  • User name, user title, or lock flag changed via the INFO command or the "File->Fault Entry Information" action-bar pull-down menu option.
  • User notes against dump storage addresses added, deleted, or modified.
When user information has changed, then a display like the example shown in Figure 1 is presented upon exiting the interactive report, which permits the cancellation of the refresh, or the suppression of the minidump.
Figure 1. Sample refresh processing exit prompt
┌ ─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
 │ Fault Entry Refresh                                        Line 1 Col 1 76  │
 │ Command ===> ____________________________________________ Scroll ===> CSR   │
 │                                                                             │
 │ User information has been added or modified.                                │
 │                                                                             │
 │ Press Enter to refresh the current history file entry, or press PF3/PF12    │
 │ to cancel.                                                                  │
 │                                                                             │
 │ A minidump does not currently exist for this fault entry, but one will be   │
 │ saved unless suppressed using the option below.                             │
 │                                                                             │
 │ MaxMinidumpPages Option . . : 100                                           │
 │ Current Minidump Pages. . . : 163                                           │
 │ Suppress Minidump . . . . . : N (Y/N)                                       │
 │                                                                             │
 │ *** Bottom of data.                                                         │
 │                                                                             │
 │                                                                             │
 │                                                                             │
 │                                                                             │
 │                                                                             │
 │                                                                             │
 └─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘

The option to suppress the minidump is only included if the fault does not yet include a minidump and the current minidump size exceeds the MaxMinidumpPages option limit in effect.

If instead the reanalysis is performed in batch, then a user exit can be used to perform the equivalent function. This exit is effectively an End Processing user exit, and is specified using the RefreshExits option (see RefreshExits).